2018 IABC Gold Quill Special Award and “Best of the Best” Winners Announced

San Francisco, CA, April 24, 2018 – Today the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) announced the special award and “Best of the Best” winners in the 2018 IABC Gold Quill Awards program (#IABCGQ). For more than 40 years, the Gold Quill Awards have recognized business communication excellence worldwide and is acknowledged as one of the most prestigious awards programs in the industry.

Special awards and the “Best of the Best” have gone to a global selection of communication practitioners, teams and agencies, from a pool of almost 700 entries. The selections were made following extensive review by more than 250 evaluators. “These Gold Quill special awards are a mark of excellence,” said Stephanie Doute, CAE, executive director of IABC. “We are thrilled to be recognizing these communications strategies which have successfully driven business results and look forward to celebrating with the recipients at the IABC World Conference.” All the Gold Quill Awards will be presented at the Excellence Gala, to be held on Tuesday, 5 June, as part of IABC’s World Conference in Montréal.

2018 Special Award Winners

Jake Wittmer Award: Presented to the entry that shows outstanding research that was

commissioned or developed by a communicator and was instrumental in ensuring the

success of a communication program.

Winning entry: 90 Day Planning - Sentiment & Metrics

Desiree Elsharif



Business Issue Award: Presented to an entry that addresses a critical business issue that threatened the well-being or viability of an organization and shows strategic involvement while presenting and effective, innovative resolution with measurable results.
Winning entry: Equipping an Organization for Successful Large-Scale Transformation
Jennifer Hahn
Bristol-Myers Squibb and Gagen MacDonald

Sharon Berzok Student Award: Presented to the student achieving the highest standard of communication excellence in the student categories.
Winning entry: PR teater
Kristina Zidar

2018 “Best of the Best” award winners
Recommended by evaluators and reviewed by the Gold Quill Awards chair, vice chair and past chair, the Best of the Best winners represent the very best entries seen across the globe.

Best of the Best, Category 1: Internal Communication
Winning entry: #ninetynine
Terri Naude
Logical Truth-DStv
South Africa

Best of the Best, Category 2: Employee Engagement
Winning entry: Tax Canada Bot-a-thon
Maliha Aqeel
Ernst & Young

Best of the Best, Category 3: Human Resources and Benefits Communication
Winning entry: Coca-Cola Refreshments Canada Retirement Readiness Program
Jeff Pekar
Coca-Cola Refreshments Canada and Willis Towers Watson

Best of the Best, Category 4: Change Communication
Winning entry: League of Champions
James McKenzie
Barloworld Transport (Pty) Ltd.
South Africa

Best of the Best, Category 5: Safety Communication
Winning entry: Stop and Think Before You Act
Elsabe Coetzee and Caren Venter
Sappi Southern Africa Limited
South Africa

Best of the Best, Category 10: Community Relations
Winning entry: Rebuilding Trust: Crowchild Trail Study
Peggy Chan
City of Calgary

Best of the Best, Category 24: Digital Communication
Winning entry: Day at a Modern Mine
Carla Pattison
Anglo American South Africa
South Africa

Best of the Best, Category 26: Publications
Winning entry: Charlotte Russe Benefit Magazine
Elizabeth Williams
Conduet-Charlotte Russe

About IABC

With 10,000 members and more than 100 chapters worldwide, the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) is the only global association that connects business communication professionals with the people and insights needed to drive business results. Founded in 1970 and supporting professional communicators at the heart of every organization, IABC serves the collective disciplines of business communication professionals through professional development offerings, certifications, awards and recognition programs, online resources, Communication World magazine and the annual World Conference.

Press Contact

Contact: Mike Holden
Phone: +1 415.544.4700
Email: mholden@iabc.com